Re-direction

It’s been three months or so since I last wrote on this site.  I’ve just been at a loss as to what to do with it.  Well, school came to a screeching halt after a very serious domestic event that I don’t much want to get into detail about because I’d like Elizabeth to someday be able to get on and see all the neat things that we used to do together.  If you would like to read more on what happened, I wrote up a brief explanation on Seedling at Snow on the Daffodils.

After that event, knowing that I had no other option, I put all of my effort into trying to stay grounded, avoid PTSD, and find a full-time job.  After months and months of looking, I finally did find a job.  I’ve been with the company for a month now.  I’ll admit that right at this moment I feel like I should be cleaning something because I don’t have time during the week to do anything.  The kids spend their days at a day care provider’s (who is wonderful, as I’ve said all along), and I have a little over an hour’s round-trip drive to work, but that will  be a bit reduced in a few weeks after the training I’m doing at another facility is done.  Even so, I feel like I’m chasing sleep, don’t’ have time to do anything but the bare minimum, and feel fairly overwhelmed.  I’m working on finding balance.  Balance between work, the house, the kids, time to myself, exercise, and healing.  It’s definitely an adjustment, I know that.  But we will get there.

021At any rate, homeschooling is done.  The plan was already to send Elizabeth to public school before this all happened, and I knew that school would take a hit once I took a job.  With what happened, it just totally took back seat to surviving.  As such, I wasn’t sure what to do with the blog.  I haven’t been putting much on Seedling either.  I landed a side job of writing blog articles for a localish magazine, which was actually the main goal when I began the blogs.  Thus, between work, the house, the kids, and the magazine, I am busy.

But, it’s good.  Summer is here, I like my job, I have my kids, CPS is on my side, and hopefully what happened will be resolved soon.

So what do I do with Seed To Seedling?  I decided that just because I’m not homeschooling doesn’t mean the site has to die.  It also doesn’t mean that I am not taking an active part of my children’s lives.  A bit ago I was reading Raising Resilient Children by Robert Brooks and Sam Goldstein, in which the authors talk about charismatic adults in kids’ lives, and I am trying my best to be that.  If you don’t know what a charismatic adult is, here’s the perfect video to educate you.  Though it doesn’t talk about it specifically, the interaction of the mother with her kids and their response, that of her son’s in particular, tells you that she is their charismatic adult.

So, though I will be away from them 40+ hours a week now, that doesn’t mean that we can’t still have a good time.  This doesn’t mean that I’m going to be lax about behavior or bed time or important things like that (because really those things help kids feel like you are on their side).  It means that I am going to be on their side and we can still do fun things together and go out on the nature trail, etc.  Elizabeth found a bird nest today with two little baby birds and one big one (the big one was probably a brown headed cow bird, a type of parasitic bird that lays their eggs in the nests of other birds and let it be raised by someone else).  It’s so neat that she found it and I am so proud of her for being the little naturalist that she is.

Seed To Seedling is going to have a content make-over, a re-direction.  I don’t know how often I will be able to post, but from now on it will be dedicated to our homeschool-like fun activities that we do around work and public school.  I guess this is just me making the best of whatever situation I’m handed.

002

Luna moth we saw out side together

One thought on “Re-direction

Share your thoughts

