Stories and Sickies. Reflections, K Week 19

Both Elizabeth and I have been wrapped up in stories lately.

As far as Elizabeth goes, I am left feeling very surprised, because, for the most part, I have long felt that what she told me was the truth as she sees it, but ever since we brought Percy, the cat, home, she has been telling stories and stories, not only about him, though mostly, that I know to be untrue.  These stories aren’t malicious, just fictional, and it’s left me wondering what other things she has told me that are stories that I believed at her word.  An example would be that she told me that Percy was clawing at her door all night and thus woke her up, though I know he didn’t, because he slept with me – all night long.

I don’t know if the cat triggered this period of imaginative creation of un-truths, or if things have been this way for a while and I just didn’t know it.  Don’t know.

If you haven’t noticed, it has been quite a while since I published a post on either of my blogs.  The reason for this is that I got the crazy idea in my head to publish the YA book I’ve been working on for the past 5 years.  My hard-drive bit the dust and took it with it, but as I had it all hand written or printed off, I’ve been retyping it slowly over the past two years or so – until about mid-November when I decided that since I have no other work, I might as well make a go at it.  ‘Cuz, as the New York Lotto always says, “Hey, you never know.”

As such, I’ve been typing like mad for the last month and a half trying to get it all done by Christmas vacation for a friend who works in the school system and may edit it for me during this time.  (Check out my recent post on Seedling pertaining to this topic: Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway: Chasing the Dream to Publish my Book.)

Unfortunately, I also kind of let my house, dinner, and homeschooling fall to the way-side as I was attempting to push myself to get it done.  Today is it, I think.  If I can’t get it done enough to print tomorrow, I’m taking a break because it wasn’t meant to be for this Christmas break.  That doesn’t mean I’m giving up, just going in a different direction.  I do have an interview tomorrow.  Shhhh, but I don’t know how I feel about it because what I really want to do is pursue publishing my book, it’s my main focus right now, and if I get a job, I don’t know what that will mean for it.  The job is only part-time though, so I also kind of want it because it’s good pay.

This past week, both of the kids have been sick and so I am not counting it as a school week.  Jeesh, Paul was under the weather for well over a week, but luckily Elizabeth seems to be bouncing back after about 6 days.  It was ‘just a cold,’ but she did take a nap for four days straight, which a normal sickness pulls her down for a nap only one or two days, so I have to know that it was bad.  On the bright side, I was able to type more.  I never wish my kids sick, but sometimes it does come at opportune times!

We are all still enjoying the kitty, though at times the kitty doesn’t enjoy us, especially Paul, who has blinders on to everything else but the cat lately while he has been sick.  Much photography has been practiced on the cat in the past few days.  Here are a few shots taken by someone other than myself:

 

Share your thoughts

