Nature Walks – November 2015

“So come, get ready.  Don’t delay!  We’re on a nature trail today.”

~Maurice Pledger

November in and out all ready!  Man – time goes by so fast!  We didn’t get out too much this month, it seems.  I just tried to rake up the seemingly endless amount of fallen leaves.  I had really worried that, all by myself this year, I would not be able to, and though I didn’t keep the yard sparkling green as in other years, it turned out that it wasn’t as impossible as I had thought.  We did see some fun things meanwhile though.

033

Mountains of piles of raked leaves.  (Doesn’t actually seem so bad in the picture, but in real life, it was a lot!  But I love our woods anyway.)

003

We also found some slimy caterpillars while raking – and they were slimy.

008

Elizabeth and I dispersed more milkweed seeds.

017

Since the temperatures where in the 50’s for most of the month, the moths were still out, and we found this one on a cool day.  Elizabeth wanted to bring it inside where it could be safe and warm, so we put it in a glass jar with some leaves and grass.  (I haven’t seen it move since then…)

Share your thoughts

