Nature Walks – October 2015

“So come, get ready. Don’t delay! We’re on a nature trail today.”

~Maurice Pledger, from In the Forest

As I keep saying, time just feels like it’s flying, and I can’t believe that October is come and gone! For the most part the weather was really nice here in upstate NY, so the kids and I got outside lots, some as time just to explore, but mostly so I could rake the incredible amount of leaves that fall here in the woods. We did get out to explore off our own trail and on another in the Finger Lakes area, and I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was, and how different the woods were composed, as opposed to ours.

083

The trail began on this cement path that was actually the shoulder of a busy road, divided by the guard rail. I thought to come here because, while driving for work, I came along this road, and thought to myself that I’d never been, and thus had never taken the kids, on this trail with a neat covered bridge that crosses over the road.

086

But the big surprise was how incredibly lovely the trail was immediately off the bridge!

093

We have hardly any evergreens in our woods, so these were a lovely change too. Can’t remember what this is, can you?

101

Elizabeth tried her hand at some photography too, taking pictures of these plants that she was really fascinated with. They were pretty hard to photograph as well, because the camera wanted to automatically focus on whatever was behind them, but she got a shot!  I don’t know what these are either, do you?

021

At at home, I found this interesting moth on a dried basil leaf when I was bringing my plant inside.

048

Lastly, the first snow fell this month – and stuck! The kids just HAD to get out and eat some!

Share your thoughts: What neat things did you see on your nature trail this month?

One thought on “Nature Walks – October 2015

  1. Loved this post, our family enjoys nature walks so much! I’m thinking the evergreen tree you posted is a type of Spruce, but I’m not positive. We have a black spruce on our property and it looks very similar!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

