Zin! Zin! Zin! Music All Around! Reflections, K Weeks 2 and 3

I’m sorry, I skipped a week again, I got busy, and well, Elizabeth and I have been off and on with school lately.

Really, that’s my fault, and I know it.  I can’t decide if it is laziness, a creative spark that is taking up my time, or emotional garbage that I need to work through (or avoid).  At any rate, we have actually had the time to do school lately, but I have not been very self-disciplined, which is totally not me.

But I do feel guilty, because I go on, blah blah blah, about wanting so badly to be able to homeschool and poor me blahdie blahdie blahdie, but then when I have the opportunity to do it, I’ve not been taking it.  So, last week, we did school one week day, but then feeling guilty, I snuck it in on Saturday evening (which isn’t too odd for us), and told myself that I MUST keep at it this week.  It was one hell of a busy week, but we were able to do our school 4/5 days!

Thus, we did finish up our Kind Acts unit on that Saturday night, and we have moved onto music this unit, and are having lots of fun with it!  I’ve been very impressed with Elizabeth’s ability to identify different instruments – both by sight and ear.  I regret to say that I am not very musical;though I can dance and have lots of rhythm, I never learned to play an instrument (not yet anyway!), can’t read music, and can’t sing on key.  But my 5-year-old can recognize a clarinet and a trumpet and a tuba, I’ve been very impressed.

Our first activity was with some cards that had the instruments on them, and following along in the book, Zin! Zin! Zin! a Violin, by Lloyd Moss.  Doing this, she matched the instrument cards with others that read “Solo,” “Duet,” “Trio,” etc., through “A Chamber Group of 10.”  She was so into it that she made up the activity on her own without me having to read her the instructions.  As in, she did what was written in the guide without being guided.  In addition, she looked at the letters in the words enough to be able to figure out which were which when I dictated them to her.  She is just sooooo close to reading!  It’s so exciting!

093

Making music with water, and adding the element of color to it too – since Elizabeth LOVES playing with food coloring!

 

This is a video I added for a unit modification, because I wanted to add the element of musical diversity across the entire world, because there are NO cultures that are music-less (my own word).  I also dislike how school usually focuses on only things of European descendant, and leaves so much other wonderful and interesting information out just because it is from other parts of the world.

This week, I also had the opportunity to watch my cousin’s little girl, who is 3.  We will call her Emily.  Emily is very musical: singing and dancing and making up songs and loving any music that we can make.  One night we had a “Dance Party” with a little Fisher Price® musical…thing, it just plays different music with the option to add your own instrument sounds.  She LOVED it!  So that was a fun addition to our unit.

Share your thoughts:  In what ways does your curriculum come equipped with interesting ways to incorporate music into your childrens’ learning?  If you don’t use a boxed curriculum, what are some ways that you add it in?

099

A drum I got at the Renaissance Festival last year to add some music to our school.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Zin! Zin! Zin! Music All Around! Reflections, K Weeks 2 and 3

Share your thoughts

